My Fictional World

When I was a reporter, I wrote every day. I wrote to tell the community what had happened. But day after day, I felt there was so much left unsaid. Everyday I am caught in the dichotomy between facts and rumours, reality and myth. I knew I need to write something else.

在身為記者的那段日子,每天執筆,告訴大家社會裡發生了甚麼事。不過時日久了,漸察覺有點意猶未盡,有的話說不出來。陷於事實與謠傳、真實與神話的二分世界中,我知道,需要寫點別的東西。

A surrealistic approach is what I have adopted to construct my literary world as a showcase of the society I live in. I have chosen to reflect the historical and cultural context of our world this way in order to uphold my personal dignity and integrity.

想展示社會現況,卻又不想囿於資料規條。第一次讀馬奎斯就愛上他的小說,既魔幻,又寫實。在歷史與文化的脈絡中,我致力素描秉持尊嚴與操守的困難。

The narrative structure and point of view are my prime concerns. At the intersection between the real and imaginary worlds, I explore new, original narrative strategies. Experimenting with different narrative techniques has given me great delight, enabling me to uncover layers of emotions, review layers of facts and unpack layers of history.

在文字與現實世界的邊際,筆尖為如何說故事而左右游移,以點與捺尋找情緒之間的分界,標示不同人物心內真實的路徑,甚至歷史不同版本的原由。

The Reasons of Clouds 《雲的理由》 (2017)

I seek to portray the anxiety and power that an individual may experience in his fight for a political utopia. Through a pair of characters who share between them a three-tiered bond (father and son; teacher and student; policeman and demonstrator), I explore their relationship and their power struggle; and the possibility and impossibility of political missions are questioned repeatedly.

在追尋政治理想國的路途上,究竟會經歷怎樣的掙扎、焦慮與傾權的迷思呢?一對是父子,一對是師生,最後一對是警察與示威者,小說嘗試透過同一對人物,三個身份關係,探討他們的權力關係,並反覆叩問政治使命究竟是否可能。

Trees Vanished 《消失了樹》 (2007)

I explore the manner in which an individual’s life and experiences are shaped and influenced by history. The plot stretches from 1990s Hong Kong to ten years after the handover of sovereignty to China. At this particular historic time and space, people were caught in the dichotomy between facts and rumour, reality and myth about the handover. I adopt a surrealistic approach to construct the literary world of a sinking island, showcasing the society in which insignificant people lived.

歷史到底會對個人帶來甚麼呢?一個人所走的生活路徑,究竟有幾多是緣於其身處的歷史大環境呢?小說的場景由1990年代舖開,直至主權回歸後十年。在這段獨特的歷史時刻中,小人物的所感所想,到底是怎麼一回事呢?

Chinese Black Tea 《普洱茶》 (1997)

This was an attempt to examine issues of cultural identity and self distinctiveness. The story is about a young director struggling to reconstruct his life after the death of his father, who owned a Chinese tea shop. Numerous kinds of Chinese tea, with different degrees of fermentation, are employed as metaphors for different stages of life and human situations.

立意探索人的文化身份及自我的獨特性。故事中,一個年輕導演在父親去世後,努力重建生活,而家傳下來的就是一所茶葉店。小說以各種發酵不同程度的茶葉,作為象徵,隱喻人生各個不同處境。

Home

Leave a comment